Click to Home Page
City of Sweet Home

Go To Search
City of Sweet Home
Budget Committee
Budget Committee

The Budget Committee is the planning board of the City. It consists of the governing body (City Council) plus an equal number of local voters (citizen members of the Budget Committee) appointed by the Council.  The City of Sweet Home has 14 Budget Committee members, with the votes of all members equal.  State law (ORS 294.336) mandates a budget committee for all Oregon local governments.

The Budget Committee reviews the proposed budget submitted by the City Budget Officer.  In Sweet Home, the City Manager is the Budget Officer.  The committee may approve the proposed budget intact, or change part or all of it prior to final approval.

After notices and publications are filed according to State law, the budget is forwarded to the City Council for one final Public Hearing and formal adoption prior to June 30.

The fiscal powers of the Budget Committee are:

  • Specify the amount of tax revenue or tax rate for all funds
  • Establish maximum total expenditures for each fund
  • Approve the total taxes for the local government as an amount and/or rate
  • Approve the budget, then forward it on to the City Council for adoption.

The Budget Committee meets annually. The first meeting of the year is held the 3rd Thursday of April each year where the annual Budget Message is read and meeting dates are set.

2016 Budget Committee Meetings: 

        Budget Message Read & Additional Meeting Dates Scheduled to be held April 21, 2016


        TBA -City Hall Annex/Council Chambers

        TBA -City Hall Annex/Council Chambers

        TBA -City Hall Annex/Council Chambers

        TBA -City Hall Annex/Council Chambers
        (meeting only held if needed.)    

Please note that the location for all meetings: 

City Hall Council Chambers (Annex) 
1140 12th Avenue
Sweet Home, OR 97386 


The Budget Committee consists of City Council members and seven Citizen members.
Citizen Members include:

  • Gerritt Schaffer
  • Andrew Allen
  • Brent Gaskey   
  • Diane Gerson   



Oregon at its Best!
Sweet Home City Hall, 1140 12th Avenue, Sweet Home, OR 97386, Ph: (541) 367-5128, Fax (541) 367-5113